Maestro, a musical journey through Venice Part 1 Venice and the Gabrielis

Playback Restricted

This content is available for streaming only at the University of Maryland's College Park campus or through a VPN connection. This content may be accessed from public computers at any of the UMD Libraries on the College Park campus.

Questions? Contact Us

Copy the text below to embed this resource

First program in a series of five about music in Venice. This program covers the 16th and early 17th centuries and includes excerpts from the music of Willaert, Palestrina, the Gabrielis, and Schütz performed by the King's Consort and the Gabrieli Consort & Players.
Landon, H. C. Robbins 1926 (Howard Chandler Robbins); Boulding, Hilary; Norwich, John Julius 1929; King, Robert 1960; McCreesh, Paul; Palestrina, Giovanni Pierluigi da 1525?-1594; Gabrieli, Andrea ca. 1533-1585; Gabrieli, Giovanni 1557-1612; Schütz, Heinrich 1585-1672
King's Consort; Gabrieli Consort & Players; Robclif (Firm); SEPT (Television station : France); Channel Four (Great Britain); Films for the Humanities (Firm)
European Culture; Italian Culture; Performing Arts, Music; Music; Performing Arts; Music Italy Venice 16th century History and criticism; Music Italy Venice 17th century History and criticism
North America; United States; New Jersey
Distinctive Media Collections
Rights Statement
In Copyright
Terms of Use
Access is restricted to patrons at the University of Maryland.
Physical Description
53 minutes; color


Access condition: campus-only.

Creation/Production Credits

Host, John Julius Norwich ; the King's Consort ; director, Robert King ; Gabrieli Consort & Players ; director, Paul McCreesh.
Other Identifiers
Filename: lms-090117; Fedora 2 PID: umd:1685; Handle Identifier: hdl:1903.1/967; OCLC: ocm34299797; Catalog Key: alephsys002941869; Catalog Key: FFH 4072

Access Restrictions

This item is accessible by: collection staff, users in specific IP Ranges.