After the storm the American exile of Béla Bartók

Playback Restricted

This content is available for streaming only at the University of Maryland's College Park campus or through a VPN connection. This content may be accessed from public computers at any of the UMD Libraries on the College Park campus.

Questions? Contact Us

Copy the text below to embed this resource

The Hungarian composer Béla Bartók spent the last five years of his life as a man without a country, a refugee from war-torn Europe. He spent these years, 1940-45, in the United States, and this film tells the story of these years. Includes excerpts from Bartók's music performed by György Sándor, piano, László Bársony, viola, the Budapest Symphony Orchestra conducted by Ervin Lukács, Sir Georg Solti, and the Chicago Symphony conducted by Sir Georg Solti.
Sturrock, Donald; Sándor, György 1912-2005; Bársony, László 1946; Lukács, Ervin; Solti, Georg 1912-1997; Bartók, Béla 1881-1945
Chicago Symphony Orchestra; Magyar Rádió és Televízió Szimfonikus Zenekara; British Broadcasting Corporation. Television Service; Magyar Rádió és Televízió; Portobello Productions; SEPT (Television station : France); Films for the Humanities (Firm)
Performing Arts, Music; Music; Performing Arts; Composers Hungary Biography
North America; United States; New Jersey
Distinctive Media Collections
Rights Statement
In Copyright
Terms of Use
Access is restricted to patrons at the University of Maryland.
Physical Description
75 minutes; color


Access condition: campus-only.

Creation/Production Credits

"Bartók's letters read by Bob Peck." Photography, János Illés, Keith Hopper.
Other Identifiers
Filename: lms-090279; Fedora 2 PID: umd:2000; Handle Identifier: hdl:1903.1/1119; OCLC: ocm44602070; Catalog Key: alephsys002863489; Catalog Key: FFH 10325

Access Restrictions

This item is accessible by: collection staff, users in specific IP Ranges.